Making Democracy Work

Other Entities

These groups can also affect your daily life.

California State Board of Equalization

The Board of Equalization collects California state sales and use taxes, fuel, alcohol and tobacco taxes, and fees that provide revenue to state government and funding for counties, cities and special districts. They are elected by the public to ensure their tax program administration remains directly accountable to the people. Four members are elected by district. The fifth member, the State Controller, is elected at large and serves in an ex officio capacity. The Board's five members serve concurrent four-year terms.

Board Members

George Runner, First District
Fiona Ma, Second District
Jerome E. Horton, Third District
Diane Harkey, Fourth District (includes County of San Diego)
Betty T. Yee, California State Controller, who presides over the Franchise Tax Board

Main Office
State Board of Equalization
P. O. Box 942879
Sacramento, CA 94279
Hours: Monday-Friday, 8:00AM to 5:00PM
Phone: 1-800-400-7115

San Diego Office
1350 Front Street, Room 5047
San Diego, CA 92101-3698
Phone: 619-525-4526
Fax: 619-525-4548

San Diego County Office of Education

The County Board of Education is the governing board for the San Diego County Office of Education. It derives its authority under the California Constitution, the California Legislature, the San Diego County Charter, and the regulations of the California State Board of Education. The office of the County Superintendent of Schools, under the guidance of the County Board of Education, serves as a liaison and coordinating agency among public and private educational and non-educational entities at school, district, county, regional, state and federal levels. In addition to its compliance, fiscal oversight and coordinating responsibilities, the San Diego County Office of Education maintains a variety of instructional programs, including classes for preschool, special education, juvenile court and community schools, and regional occupational programs. It also acts as an appeals board for student expulsions, inter-district transfers and Charter School petitions.

In the County there are 24 elementary districts, 6 high school districts, 12 unified school districts and 5 community college districts serving kindergarten through grade 14 and adults. The County Board of Education has the authority to change the boundaries of educational districts.

The County Board of Education consists of five members elected by voters of their districts for four year terms. There are no term limits.

Board Members

District 1: Central San Diego
Mark Powell

District 2: South County
Guadalupe Gonzalez

District 3: East County
Alicia Muņoz, Vice President

District 4: North Inland (includes Vista and San Marcos)
Paulette Donnellon

Fifth District: North Coastal
Rick Shea, President


Regular business meetings are held at 6:00 p.m. on the second Wednesday of the month, except in July and August at 3:00PM Meetings are open to the public.

Brenda Gomez, Executive Assistant to the Board of Education
Phone: 858-292-3515

Edward Velasquez, Interim County Superintendent of Schools

Main Office
6401 Linda Vista Road
San Diego, CA 92111
Phone: 858-292-3500

List of districts:

List of schools:

San Dieguito Community Planning Group

An advisory body established by the County of San Diego to advise it on planning and land use matters related to the San Dieguito area.
The group represents the entire contiguous unincorporated area surrounded by the cities of Solana Beach, San Diego, Escondido, Vista, San Marcos, Carlsbad and Encinitas. The group makes its advisory recommendations to the Supervisors on such matters as the County General Plan, Community Plan, zoning, highway and circulation plans, and specific development proposals. Fifteen members living in the communities in which they serve are elected for four-year terms.

Officers are elected annually.


Rancho Santa Fe Fire Department Meeting Room
16936 El Fuego, Rancho Santa Fe
Meets every other Thursday at 7:00 p.m. Meetings open to the public.


Contact person:
Lisa Fitzpatrick
Dept. of Planning and Development Services
Phone: 858-694-3816

Valley Center Community Planning Group

Representatives of the unincorporated areas of the county are given the opportunity to advise and assist the County of San Diego officials on matters of planning and land use affecting the group's area. They are not empowered to render decisions of any kind on behalf of the County of San Diego. The purview of the group is limited to community issues related to planning or land use.

Elected by the registered voters in the Community Planning area on the first Tuesday in November of even numbered years:

Even numbered seats will be elected in 2018

Odd numbered seats will be elected in 2020


Valley Center Community Hall Basement
28246 Lilac Road
Valley Center

Second Monday
7:00 P.M.


Contact person:
Lisa Fitzpatrick
Dept. of Planning and Development Services
Phone: 858-694-3816

County Parks Advisory Committee

County Service Area 83 (San Dieguito) and 83A (4S Ranch)

A committee of up to seven members nominated by the District 5 County Supervisor and appointed by the entire Board of Supervisors. Advisory committee members must be a resident or property owner in the San Dieguito or 4S Ranch community and demonstrate an interest in and knowledge of issues related to local parks. Members serve terms that run concurrently with the District 5 Supervisor who appointed them. Reelection of the Supervisor does not automatically extend the term of any Committee member.

Members provide information and recommendations to the Department of Parks and Recreation regarding the annual operations and maintenance of local parks in their communities.


5500 Overland Avenue, Suite 410
San Diego, CA 92123


Sabrina Hicks
Phone: 858-694-3030